Next Event

2023 Pershing Square Sohn Prize Dinner and Tenth Anniversary Celebration

On Thursday, May 18th the Pershing Square Sohn Cancer Research Alliance held its 2023 Prize Dinner and Tenth Anniversary celebration at Manhatta in New York, awarding its 2023 Pershing Square Sohn Prize for Young Investigators in Cancer Research to seven early-career pioneers in cancer research in the greater New York City area. It was a beautiful celebration welcoming our new cohort to the supportive and lively community that has grown over the past ten years.

The evening featured special guest speakers, George Yancopoulos, MD, PhD, Co-Founder, President, and CSO of Regeneron, and Deborah Birx, MD, Senior Fellow at the George W. Bush Institute and former White House Coronavirus Response Coordinator, who spoke candidly on a panel about their work and the future of innovation and technology.

The Pershing Square Sohn Prize was created in 2013 to empower young scientists to take risks, explore bold ideas, and pursue their most pioneering research. Since 2013, the Prize has funded 66 early career investigators at 13 institutions across the greater New York City area and has built a community of researchers and mentors that learn from one another.

Collectively, in one decade, the 66 Pershing Square Sohn Prize winners have:

  • Over 370 journal publications from PSSCRA-funded research.
  • Participated in 760 conferences and seminars related to PSSCRA-funded research.
  • Made 128 industry/academic connections through PSSCRA, and of these, established 70 ongoing collaborations.

The 2023 Pershing Square Sohn Prize winners are: Gilad Evrony, MD, PhD from New York University Grossman School of Medicine, Benjamin Izar, MD, PhD from Columbia University Irving Medical Center, Marta Luksza, PhD from The Tisch Cancer Institute at Mount Sinai, John Maciejowski, PhD from Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, Kyle K. Payne, PhD of Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey, David Simon, PhD of Weill Cornell Medicine, and Xiaolei Su, PhD, from Yale School of Medicine. Read more about our 2023 Prize winners in our Press Release here.